What are the different types of natural fats?

A Answers (1)

  • A , Administration, answered

    There are three main types of natural fats: saturated, monounsaturated, and polyunsaturated. These names come from the fats' chemical structures. Fat molecules are called saturated, or chemically complete, when all the carbon molecules in a chain are bonded with hydrogen molecules. Monounsaturated fats, such as olive and canola oils, have only one open space where a hydrogen atom could have bonded. Polyunsaturated fats, such as corn, safflower, sunflower, and soybean oils, have many open spaces in their chemical structure.

This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.
Did You See?  Close
What are the three kinds of fat in the body?