What are the five types of wounds?

The five types of wounds are abrasion, avulsion, incision, laceration, and puncture. An abrasion is a wound caused by friction when a body scrapes across a rough surface. An avulsion is characterized by a flap. An incision is a cut with clean edges. A laceration is a cut with jagged edges. A puncture is a wound where something passes through or becomes impaled in the skin. (This answer provided for NATA by the Weber State University Athletic Training Education Program.)

Continue Learning about Injuries, Wound and Trauma

news : brain injuries , concussions linked to doubled suicide risk
news : brain injuries , concussions linked to doubled suicide risk
a history of damage to the brain from trauma—such as from blows to the head—has been tied to increased risk for self-harm and suicide . now , new find...
Read More
what is a closed chest wound ?
American Red CrossAmerican Red Cross
A closed chest wound does not break the skin. Closed chest wounds generally are caused by blunt ...
More Answers
what are types of heat-related illnesses ?
Brett SnodgrassBrett Snodgrass
Heat related illnesses include: heat cramps, heat exhaustion and heat stroke. Heat stroke can lead t...
More Answers
what are submersion injuries in children ?
Univ. of Nev. School of Medicine, Family MedicineUniv. of Nev. School of Medicine, Family Medicine
Submersion injuries are also known as drowning injuries that occur when one is submersed in liqu...
More Answers

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.