What kind of training do medical specialists have?

Dr. John J. Connolly
Healthcare Insurance & Policy
Every physician who is board certified has earned the right to call themselves a specialist. For example, Family Practitioners and Internists are Primary Care specialists. However, some physicians go beyond initial board certification in Internal Medicine and become board certified in specialties such as cardiology, geriatrics or endocrinology. Some physicians also train in the specialty of pediatrics take additional fellowship training to become specialists in a pediatric sub-specialty such as pediatric gastroenterology or pediatric infectious disease.

Continue Learning about Healthcare Basics

Healthcare Basics

Healthcare Basics

From choosing the right doctors to getting the right tests, how you manage your health care can make a big difference in your long-term wellbeing. Here's what you need to know to be a smart patient and a strong self-advocate. Lear...

n more from our experts about healthcare.

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.