A gluten free diet is the prescribed medical treatment for gluten intolerance diseases such as celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people have varying levels of gluten intolerance and choose a gluten free diet. Gluten is found in the grains: wheat (durum, semolina, kamut and spelt), rye, barley and triticale. Following a gluten free diet can be challenging as there are multiple food additives and ingredients that contain gluten but are "hidden" sources of gluten. I recommend working with a Registered Dietitian if you are interested in starting a gluten free diet.
A Answers (6)
Gluten is found in many foods of a typical American diet often making a “gluten-free” diet very difficult to adhere to. Gluten is a protein found in all products containing wheat, barley, or rye. Gluten is not in potatoes, rice, soybeans, or corn. The only treatment for Celiac disease, a condition caused by exposure to gluten protein, is complete avoidance of this protein. With the increasing frequency of Celiac disease diagnosis, more gluten-free options are available in grocery stores, and even gluten-free restaurants and bakeries are opening around the US. Many people who do not even have Celiac disease adhere to a gluten-free diet as they feel healthier with more energy avoiding foods containing gluten.Helpful? 1 person found this helpful.
A gluten free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients containing gluten, a protein found in wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye and triticale. Gluten constitutes about 80% of the proteins contained in wheat and is responsible for the flexibility of kneaded dough. Those with celiac disease (CD) and dermatitis herpetiformis (DH- the skin manifestation of CD characterized by chronic, extremely itchy rash consisting of bumps and blisters), who are gluten intolerant, must strictly follow this diet.
Celiac disease is a genetic disorder that affects one in 133 Americans. The disease seems to most affect people of European (especially Northern European) descent, but recent studies show that it may also affect Hispanic, Black and Asian populations. Those affected suffer damage to regions of their intestines if they consume gluten. Oats have traditionally been considered to be toxic to celiacs, but recent scientific studies have shown otherwise. This research is ongoing and it is too early to draw any firm conclusions.
A gluten free diet may also be helpful for persons with multiple sclerosis (MS) and other autoimmune disorders, although currently there are no high quality human trials available to support this claim.
You should read product labels, and discuss all therapies with a qualified healthcare provider. Natural Standard information does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment.
Copyright © 2012 by Natural Standard Research Collaboration. All Rights Reserved.
Margaret Floyd, Nutrition & Dietetics, answered
A gluten-free diet is a diet without the protein gluten, which is the protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and many other common grains. This means avoiding many types of pasta, bread, crackers, cookies, pastries, and cereals, and being very cautious with sauces, dressings, processed meats, and processed foods generally as many contain gluten as a thickening agent. It also means no alcohol from gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley, and rye.
The easiest way to avoid gluten is to eat real, whole, unprocessed foods, and to avoid all grains except those that don't contain gluten, which are: rice, quinoa, millet, buckwheat (yes, even though it says "wheat" in its name, it's gluten-free), amaranth, and gluten-free oats (I specify gluten-free with oats because even though they don't contain gluten themselves, most are processed in a facility that also processes gluten-containing grains and so are cross-contaminated).
Many people are intolerant of gluten and show symptoms of headaches, foggyness, chronic fatigue, bloating, and some digestive complaints when they eat it. The auto-immune disease Celiac is a powerful immune reaction against gluten.
If you suspect you have a gluten sensitivity, try cutting it out of your diet completely for 7-10 days, and see if your symptoms resolve. Then add it back in one day and see if they come back. This is one of the easiest ways to identify a sensitivity.
A gluten-free diet is one that excludes gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye. A gluten-free diet is usually recommended for an individual with celiac disease and or if you have a gluten intolerance. Use nutrition-facts labels to identify if a product is gluten-free prior to consuming it if you are on a gluten-free diet. Consider seeing a Registered Dietitian specializing in food allergies and intolerances to better plan individualized, nutritionally balanced meals when you are on a gluten-free diet.
Multiple Sclerosis Foundation answeredThe gluten-free diet prohibits all foods containing wheat, rye, barley and usually,
oats. Many foods are allowed in a gluten-free diet, which may make it easier to incorporate into
your lifestyle than some other regimented diets. Still, there are many foods that are not allowed. Just a few of the forbidden foods include regular noodles, spaghetti or macaroni,
creamed vegetables, fried vegetables, any breads, muffins, rolls, doughnuts or cereals that
contain wheat, rye, oat or barley flour. Beer, most canned soup, cakes, cookies and ice
cream made with oat gum are also forbidden.