What are the different forms of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)?

Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) has three forms:
  • acute, in which symptoms last one to three months after the trauma
  • chronic, in which the symptoms last three months or more
  • delayed onset, in which at least six months pass between the traumatic event and the start of symptoms.

Continue Learning about Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

Acknowledging and Treating PTSD
Acknowledging and Treating PTSD
It’s been 108 years since the Cubs won a World Series, but this might be the year to end that championship drought. Sportswriters and psychologists, h...
Read More
How common is post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)?
Michael J. Mufson, MDMichael J. Mufson, MD
As many as 7% to 12% of people will have post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) at some point in thei...
More Answers
Why are people vulnerable to post-traumatic stress disorder?
Dr. Mehmet Oz, MDDr. Mehmet Oz, MD
We’re all vulnerable to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) because our brains are hardwired to de...
More Answers
Dr. Oz Explains PTSD
Dr. Oz Explains PTSD

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.