Question

Food Allergies & Food Intolerance

What foods should I avoid if I'm allergic to wheat?

A Answers (2)

  • A Dr Paul Ehrlich, MD, Allergy & Immunology, answered
    Anyone following a wheat-free diet due to a wheat allergy must avoid:

    •   Bread crumbs
    •   Bran
    •   Cereal
    •   Couscous
    •   Cracker meal
    •   Enriched flour
    •   Farina
    •   Gluten
    •   Graham flour
    •   High-gluten flour
    •   High-protein flour
    •   Spelt
    •   Vital gluten
    •   Wheat bran
    •   Wheat germ
    •   Wheat gluten
    •   Wheat malt
    •   Wheat starch
    •   Whole wheat flour
  • A Dr Robert Silge, MD, Allergy & Immunology, answered on behalf of Intermountain Healthcare
    The following foods contain wheat:

    Beverages and formula:
    • Postum
    • Beer, gin, and some whiskeys
    Dairy products:
    • All dairy products thickened with wheat flour or wheat starch
    Eggs, meat, fish, and poultry:
    • All breaded meats with wheat flour or wheat starches
    • All meats with wheat flour or wheat starch thickeners
    Fruits:
    • All fruits, canned or frozen, with breading or thickened with wheat flour or wheat starch
    Vegetables:
    • All vegetables canned or frozen, with breading or thickened with wheat flour or wheat starch
    Breads, cereals, and pasta:
    • Commercial breads and rolls made with wheat flour
    • All hot wheat cereals
    • All cold cereals made from wheat grains
    • All wheat crackers
    • Teriyaki rice cakes
    • Flour tortillas
    • All wheat pasta and noodles
    Soups:
    • Any soups with noodles or pasta and thickened with wheat flour or wheat starch
    Fats:
    • Salad dressings thickened with wheat flour or starches
    • Packaged gravies, dips, and sauces with wheat thickeners
    Desserts:
    • All candy or other desserts with wheat flours or wheat starches
    • Commercial cakes, cookies, donuts, pies and pie filling, or mixes with wheat flours
    • Custards and pudding with wheat flour or starch
    • Licorice (modified food starch [MFS])
    • Most packaged frostings (MFS)
    • Peanut M&Ms
    Note: In the U.S. most modified food starch is made from corn; however, check with the manufacturer to verify it does not contain wheat.

    Condiments:
    • Soy sauce
    Miscellaneous:
    • Monosodium glutamate (MSG)
    • Pure vanilla
Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.
Did You See?  Close
Can wheat allergies be prevented?