What are the types of cataracts?

A Answers (2)

  • There are many kinds of cataracts. The most common three types are nuclear sclerotic, cortical, and posterior subcapsular. It is uncommon but not rare for a particular individual to have all three kinds of cataracts in the same eye at the same time.
    1 person found this helpful.
  • There are four types of cataracts. The first type, congenital cataracts, refers to infants who are born with the condition, usually as the result of a genetic condition or because the mother had an illness during pregnancy. The other three types of cataracts each affect a different area of the eye lens. Nuclear cataracts develop in the center of the lens and may cause such symptoms as double vision and a yellowing of the eye. Cortical cataracts develop on the outer areas of the lens, causing many people to suffer from sensitivity to light. Posterior subcapsular cataracts develop on the back of the lens, which may affect reading and night vision.

This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.
Did You See?  Close
What is an after-cataract?