How can I get enough vitamin B12 if I am a vegan or a vegetarian?

Advertisement
Advertisement
Intermountain Healthcare
Administration
While B12 isn't naturally found in plant foods, many foods (such as some cereals and soy beverages) are fortified with it. If you're a strict vegetarian, you should eat fortified foods daily or take a supplement.
Vandana  R. Sheth
Nutrition & Dietetics

Fortified soy/almond/rice milk, and fortified cereal are good sources of vitamin B12 if you are vegan. Eggs and dairy would be other sources of vitamin B12 if you are a vegetarian who includes egg and dairy products in your diet.

Dariush Mozaffarian, MD
Internal Medicine
Unlike every other vitamin, B12 is almost exclusively found in animal products (eggs, milk, fish, poultry, and meat). Some vegans and strict vegetarians court a B12 deficiency, which can inflict neurological damage and contribute to heart disease. Taking a multivitamin or regularly having milk or eggs will solve the problem. Seafood omega-3 fatty acids are difficult to obtain from other sources; a small amount is found in eggs.

Continue Learning about Vitamin B12

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.