What are the different kinds of scars?

Dr. Mehmet Oz, MD
Cardiology (Cardiovascular Disease)
There are four main types of scars:
  • Keloid scars are raised and fleshy scars that protrude beyond the site of injury on the skin.
  • Contracture scars are sometimes deep scars that can occur from burns and may cause the skin to tighten. In some cases, the scars may limit normal mobility.
  • Hypertrophic scars are raised, red scars that are similar to keloids, but they don't extend beyond the site of injury. They may be helped by injections of corticosteroid medications.
  • Acne scars result from large acne lesions such as pustules and cysts.
Consult your doctor or dermatologist for more information about scars.
Stuart A. Linder, MD
Plastic Surgery

There are four main types of scars that may occur after a wound or postsurgical. 

1. Keloid. A keloid is a thickened scar in which there is overgrowth of scar tissue and collagen beyond the borders of the original scar. These scars when surgically excised can become progressively worsened. Therefore, it is very important to distinguish from the No. 2 hypertrophic scar.

2. Hypertrophic scars can be excised and made thinner. They have low incidents of recurrence and certainly do not outgrow their surgical borders.

3. Discoloration. Hyperpigmentation versus hypopigmentation. Hyperpigmented scars may occur in especially patients with increased skin tone, African American, Eurasian and Middle Eastern. These patients may increase darkness to the scars and repeated excision may make these incisions even worse.  Hypopigmentation is the opposite with reduced melanin in the scar which can cause a blanching or a bleaching effect to the scar. This can look especially poor on African American patients.

4. Widespread scars. During increased tension after a surgical procedure the edges of the wound edges may pull apart and create a widespread scar. This can be reduced by proper surgical closure in layers and steri-strips to reapproximate the epidermal and dermal edges. 

Continue Learning about Skin Injury

Can You Make Scars Go Away?
Can You Make Scars Go Away?
Whether it’s the result of a minor kitchen mishap or a more serious accident, almost everyone has at least a scar or two. But while some injuries seem...
Read More
Are skin injuries serious?
Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)
In most cases, you can treat skin injuries at home using first aid basics. These types of skin injur...
More Answers
What is an open wound?
American Red CrossAmerican Red Cross
In an open wound, the break in the skin can be as minor as a scrape of the surface layers or as ...
More Answers
How do scratches and cuts heal?
Stuart A. Linder, MDStuart A. Linder, MD
Scratches and cuts heal in general by secondary intention or wound healing. There are several stages...
More Answers

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.