What is gluten?

Margaret Floyd
Nutrition & Dietetics Specialist

Gluten is the primary protein in wheat, rye and barley. This seemingly harmless protein has become one of the top allergens, and many people are sensitive to gluten without realizing it. This wouldn't be problematic if gluten weren't so ubiquitous in processed foods.

Eat Naked: Unprocessed, Unpolluted, and Undressed Eating for a Healthier, Sexier You

More About this Book

Eat Naked: Unprocessed, Unpolluted, and Undressed Eating for a Healthier, Sexier You

Eat Naked with Margaret Floyd for a Sexier You Are you fed up with counting calories? Confused by all the diet hype? Want to eat delicious, real food and look and feel great? Leading...
Dr. Neal D. Barnard, MD
Psychiatrist (Therapist)

Gluten is a natural protein found in wheat, barley and rye. It is nutritious, providing healthful protein for the body. However, just as some people are sensitive to strawberries or peanuts, some people (about one in ten adults) react to gluten, too. For them, it is important to avoid gluten-containing foods.

Dr. Mark Hyman, MD
Family Practitioner

Gluten is a protein found in wheat that is hard to digest, and it can be very inflammatory. In this video, functional medicine expert Mark Hyman, MD, describes what gluten is and its consistency, and the types of wheat products you can find it in.

Susan Taylor
Nutrition & Dietetics Specialist

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and related cereal grains such as triticale, spelt and kamut. If you are diagnosed with celiac disease, even a small amount of gluten can be harmful. With celiac disease, foods containing gluten are poorly absorbed due to damage to the small intestine. By making the lifelong commitment to strictly follow a gluten-free diet and avoid foods containing wheat, rye, barley, commercial oats and related cereal grains, your small intestine is able to heal.

Gluten is a composite protein, made up of the smaller protein molecules gliadin and glutelin, and it’s found in many grains, including wheat, barley, rye, oats, spelt and kamut. These gluten proteins constitute as much as 80 percent of the protein in wheat. Non-grass grains such as corn and rice do not contain these proteins and are not gluten-based foods, despite the fact that they are often categorized this way. So, those who are trying to eliminate gluten are still able to consume rice and corn. Gluten intolerance is caused by incomplete digestion of gliadin proteins.

Continue Learning about Protein

Pumping Up with Protein
Pumping Up with Protein
The journey of getting older doesn't have to mean getting weaker, too. But go just one week without enough protein and your muscles could be on the p...
Read More
How much protein should I eat per day on a heart-healthy diet?
Intermountain HealthcareIntermountain Healthcare
You should eat two to three servings (about 4 to 6 ounces total) of protein daily. Get your prot...
More Answers
How can isolated proteins affect my health?
Ms. Ashley Koff, RDMs. Ashley Koff, RD
When it comes to soy protein, which shows up in so many places such as powders, bars, and shakes, be...
More Answers
A Smart Smoothie to Control Appetite
A Smart Smoothie to Control Appetite

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.