What are the regions of the prostate gland?

The prostate gland has four distinct regions:
  1. anterior fibromuscular stroma—anchoring point of the urethral sphincter that controls urination: it does not have any glands and therefore cancer or enlargement does not develop here;
  2. peripheral zone—almost all prostate cancers start here;
  3. central zone—involved with the connection of the seminal vesicles to the prostate and is rarely associated with any disease process;
  4. transition zone— site of development for BPH, benign prostatic hyperplasia (enlargement).

Continue Learning about Prostate

What is a Gleason score?
Christopher S. Saigal, MDChristopher S. Saigal, MD
A Gleason score is a measure of tumor aggressiveness. It's scored from two to 10, with 10 being most...
More Answers
How do I manage my nonbacterial prostatitis?
Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)
Treatment of nonbacterial prostatitis should be directed by your physician. Your doctor may employ a...
More Answers
What Is a PSA Test?
What Is a PSA Test?
At What Age Should Someone Start Getting Screened for Prostate Cancer?
At What Age Should Someone Start Getting Screened for Prostate Cancer?

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.