What are the different kinds of ribs?

The first six ribs each have their own specific attachment to the breast bone and are called the true ribs.

Ribs 7 through 10 all share one attachment to the breast bone and are called false ribs. Floating ribs are the last two ribs, which do not attach to the breast bone. (This answer provided for NATA by the University of Montana Athletic Training Education Program.)

Continue Learning about Parts of The Skeletal System

Is the shinbone part of the knee joint?
Dr. Mehmet Oz, MDDr. Mehmet Oz, MD
The end of the tibia, or shinbone, is one of three bones in the knee. The others are the end of the ...
More Answers
What does the pelvis do?
Rick OldermanRick Olderman
First, the pelvis dictates how the spine rests and moves. The pelvis is the keystone of spinal m...
More Answers
What are the types of bone tissue?
David Slovik, MDDavid Slovik, MD
The appearance of bone belies its structural complexity. It is neither as solid nor as static as...
More Answers
How many bones are in the foot?
James P. Ioli, DPMJames P. Ioli, DPM
Although it's one of the smaller parts of your body, the foot contains 28 different bones. Toget...
More Answers

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.