What are the stages of rhabdomyosarcoma?

Rhabdomyosarcoma, like many other types of cancer, can be categorized according to its stage. The stage (extent) of the cancer depends on several factors about the tumor and the spread of the cancer. The system used to stages rhabdomyosarcoma is complex. The first factor used to determine the stage is how far the cancer has spread and how much of it is removed after the first surgery. Another consideration is the TNM stage, which takes into account the size and location of the tumor, whether nearby lymph nodes are affected, and whether the cancer has spread throughout the body. Using this information, doctors can assign a stage (I through IV) to rhabdomyosarcoma.

Continue Learning about Musculoskeletal Cancers

What is bone metastasis?
Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA)Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA)
Sometimes, breast cancer becomes advanced and metastasizes (spreads) to other areas of the body. The...
More Answers
What are the different types of bone marrow cancers?
Gary J. Schiller, MDGary J. Schiller, MD
There are many distinct malignancies that originate in the cells of the bone marrow, that could be c...
More Answers
How can bone marrow cancer be prevented?
Univ. of Nev. School of Medicine, Family MedicineUniv. of Nev. School of Medicine, Family Medicine
There is no way to prevent bone marrow cancer. Exposure to certain toxins in the environment can mak...
More Answers
How is bone marrow cancer diagnosed?
Gary J. Schiller, MDGary J. Schiller, MD
A cancer that originates in the cells of the bone marrow can be diagnosed by discovering something a...
More Answers

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.