Are there different types of gout?

Diana Meeks
Diana Meeks on behalf of Sigma Nursing
Family Practitioner

Gout is one form of arthritis. It can be divided into two categories, either primary or secondary, depending on the cause. It is sometimes confused with pseudogout, which often affects the knee joints.

There are different stages of gout. In its early stage, attacks occur a few times each year and last for several days. In its advanced stages, tophi (uric-crystal deposits) can begin to collect under the skin and become swollen and painful during an attack.

Continue Learning about Gout

Keep Gout In Check
Keep Gout In Check
Swollen digits that often signal a gout attack are an ever-increasing menace. Overall prevalence of gout in North America has jumped two- to four-fold...
Read More
Can children develop gout?
Dr. Jeanne Morrison, PhDDr. Jeanne Morrison, PhD
Cases of gout in children are extremely rare. If a child does develop gout, it is usually because of...
More Answers
How can gout attacks be prevented?
William J. Martin, MDWilliam J. Martin, MD
Treatment for hyperuricemia (high uric acid level) to prevent gout attacks aims to block the formati...
More Answers
How Can Eating Cherries Help Gout?
How Can Eating Cherries Help Gout?

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.