What are the stages of posterior tibial tendon dysfunction?

Christopher Chiodo, MD
Orthopedic Surgery
The four stages of posterior tibial tendon dysfunction include:

Stage I: Inflammation and degeneration occurs in the posterior tibial tendon, but the tendon remains strong and there is no change to the arch of the foot.

Stage II: The tendon loses strength as a result of degeneration; the arch becomes partially flattened, but there is no rigid deformity.

Stage III: The posterior tibial tendon is torn and can no longer hold the arch, which collapses entirely. The deformity becomes rigid and there may be arthritic changes in the hindfoot.

Stage IV: The ankle joint becomes arthritic.

Continue Learning about Flat Feet (Fallen Arches)

What are the disadvantages of having flat feet?
Dr. Grant Cooper, MDDr. Grant Cooper, MD
If you have a flat foot, you will not have the benefit of a proper foot arch to redistribute your bo...
More Answers
Why might the posterior tibial tendon stop supporting the arch of the foot?
Thomas P. San Giovanni, MDThomas P. San Giovanni, MD
The posterior tibial tendon can be affected by injury or overuse. For example, it can tear because o...
More Answers
How are flat feet treated?
Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)
When people with flat feet start to feel pain, various treatments can help. Over-the-counter or even...
More Answers
How to Relieve Hip Pain
How to Relieve Hip Pain

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.