What are the two main types of fatty liver disease?

The two main types of fatty liver disease are nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH). Fatty liver disease is a process where fat infiltrates into normal liver tissue. In NAFLD, the fat hasn't caused any damage to the function of the liver. In NASH, there is fat in the liver plus signs of inflammation and liver cell damage.

Continue Learning about Fatty Liver Disease

What You Need to Know About Fatty Liver Disease
What You Need to Know About Fatty Liver Disease
You may not be familiar with its name, but fatty liver disease, a condition that can lead to liver failure and other serious complications, is silentl...
Read More
Is fatty liver disease serious?
Dr. Jeanne Morrison, PhDDr. Jeanne Morrison, PhD
By itself, fat in the liver is not usually a problem. Fatty liver disease (FLD) can become serious, ...
More Answers
What is the difference between NAFLD and NASH?
Joanna Yeh, MDJoanna Yeh, MD
Nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) is a subset of nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD). NAFLD, ...
More Answers
What are fatty livers?
Anthony L. Komaroff, MDAnthony L. Komaroff, MD
"Fatty liver" means just what it says, a liver that contains excessive amounts of fat. In the most s...
More Answers

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.