How many stages of uterine cancer are there?

There are four stages of uterine cancer. The first stage is the onset of the disease the easiest to treat, while the fourth stage is the most serious. In stage 1, cancer is still confined to the uterus. Cancer has spread to the cervix in stage 2 and pelvic lymph nodes in stage 3. In stage 4, uterine cancer has spread to the bladder, intestines, or other parts of the body. When uterine cancer is treated in stage 1 or 2, the recovery rate is very high. Treatment for stages 3 and 4 is more extensive and will likely require chemotherapy or radiation.

Continue Learning about Endometrial (Uterine) Cancer

Where does cancer of the uterus start?
Dr. Mehmet Oz, MDDr. Mehmet Oz, MD
Cancer of the uterus most often begins in the endometrium, which is the lining where a fertilized eg...
More Answers
Where does endometrial cancer spread?
Kristine A. Borrison, MDKristine A. Borrison, MD
Endometrial cancer will typically spread first into the uterine wall. Listen as gynecologist Kristin...
More Answers
Is uterine sarcoma the same as endometrial cancer?
Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)
Uterine sarcoma is not the same as endometrial cancer. Uterine sarcoma originates in the muscles and...
More Answers
Can a Person Get Endometrial Cancer from Consuming Sugary Drinks?
Can a Person Get Endometrial Cancer from Consuming Sugary Drinks?

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.