What are the stages of gastrointestinal carcinoid tumor?

Gastrointestinal carcinoid tumors are classified by stage, and stages are determined by how advanced they are. There are three main stages:

  • Localized tumors are confined to the digestive organ in which they began to grow: the stomach, intestine, appendix, colon, or rectum.
  • Regional tumors have spread to adjacent lymph nodes, muscles, fat, or other tissues.
  • Metastatic tumors have spread to more distant organs or tissues. Most commonly, gastrointestinal carcinoid tumors spread to the liver.

Continue Learning about Carcinoid Tumor, Gastrointestinal

What happens if my gastrointestinal carcinoid tumor comes back?
Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)Honor Society of Nursing (STTI)
If a gastrointestinal carcinoid tumor regrows, you will probably need surgery to remove it again. If...
More Answers
Where do gastrointestinal carcinoid tumors usually appear?
UCLA HealthUCLA Health
Most commonly, gastrointestinal carcinoid tumors grow in the small intestine, appendix, or rectum. T...
More Answers
Are gastrointestinal carcinoid tumors serious?
Ajay K. Sahajpal, MDAjay K. Sahajpal, MD
Gastrointestinal carcinoids are often slow growing tumors, however they can be serious as they grow ...
More Answers
What is a gastrointestinal carcinoid tumor?
Ajay K. Sahajpal, MDAjay K. Sahajpal, MD
A gastrointestinal carcinoid tumor is a type of neuroendocrine tumor/cancer that starts in the gastr...
More Answers

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.