What are the types of eyelid cancer?

There are four primary eyelid cancers that people need to watch out for:
  • basal cell carcinoma
  • squamous cell carcinoma
  • melanoma
  • sebaceous cell carcinoma
 Basal cell and squamous cell cancers of the eyelid are the more common ones. Melanoma and sebaceous cell cancers are rarer but can kill a person if not attended to. That is because those cancers are the types that can spread to other organs in the body.

Continue Learning about Cancer

Important: This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.