Testicular Cancer

What are the stages of testicular cancer?

A Answers (2)

  • Tumors (T) are definitively staged based on findings at surgery to remove the testicle and or lymph nodes in the abdomen. Tools used to determine the stage of the testicular cancer include a microscopic examination of the removed testicle and lymph nodes, CT scan, and other studies as indicated. The various stages of testicular cancer are:

    • T0 – No evidence of primary testicular tumors
    • T1 – Tumor confined to the testicle
    • T2 – Tumor invading outside the capsule of the testicle
    • T3 – Tumor invading the tubes which transport sperm
    • T4 – Tumor invading blood vessels which supply the testicles
    • T4B – Invades the scrotum
    • N0 – No tumor in any lymph nodes
    • N1 – Less than 6 nodes positive for cancer, no nodes greater than 2 cm
    • N2 – Greater than 6 positive nodes, any node greater than 2 cm
    • N3 – Masses, disease and lymph nodes in the back
    • N+ – Tumor has spread to multiple sites outside the lymph nodes
  • A Urology, answered on behalf of
    As with any cancer, once we make the testicular cancer diagnosis, we have to classify it’s stage. Staging tells the doctor how far the cancer has spread.

    These are the stages of testicular cancer:
    • Stage I means the cancer is contained in the testicle.
    • Stage II means it has spread to the lymph nodes. The lymph nodes involved are usually up in the upper abdomen next to the aorta, the vena cava, the kidneys and other structures of the abdomen. This area is called the retroperitoneum.
    • Stage IIII is the most advanced. It has spread to the lungs, the brain and occasionally to the liver or other areas of the body. It is still usually curable.
    When it comes to cancer, testicular cancer is almost unique. Even in patients with widely spread (metastatic) prostate cancer, the cancer can very often be completely cured. Men may live normal, happy and healthy lives. The key is to find the proper medical center and doctors to treat your cancer.
This content reflects information from various individuals and organizations and may offer alternative or opposing points of view. It should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. As always, you should consult with your healthcare provider about your specific health needs.
Did You See?  Close
How is testicular cancer diagnosed?