Dr. Dean Ornish answered:
The spectrum of available vinegars has grown much wider than the highly acidic and bitter white vinegar made from distilled alcohol that we depended on in the past. There are many now to choose from. Balsamic vinegar (made from grapes, then aged for several years) and the wine vinegars (red or white, sherry and champagne) are, like all of the vinegars, flavor enhancers, and each has its own distinctive flavor. Tarragon, sage, mint, thyme, or any of a variety of herbal vinegars are generally infusions of that herb into a vinegar base and will impart the flavor of that herb whenever used. Generally, all of these vinegars are mildly acidic and have a much more delicate flavor than standard white vinegar. Once you learn how to use them, you will be surprised at how excellent they are for adding a robust flavor to any meal when oils are not being used. Use them sparingly, however, because too much can quickly overtake other flavors and ruin whatever you are preparing. Experiment with them by stirring a small amount into homemade dressings, chutneys, and relishes. Also, add a very little to soups or stews at the end of cooking to really enrich their flavor. Raspberry vinegar is particularly wonderful as a dressing in combination with mustard and honey, apple or even orange juice concentrate. Many of these vinegars can be found in your local markets.
Rice vinegar is a Japanese product found in specialty stores or in special sections of the larger supermarket chains as well as in many health food stores. It is made from fermented rice and has a very mild flavor. Use white wine vinegar or cider vinegar if you can’t find it, although the flavor will not be as mild or sweet.Seasoned vinegar can be used for the rice for any sushi, salads, and pickling vegetables. It can be purchased in the store on those shelves stocking international foods, or you can make your own by adding varying amounts of sugar and salt to a mild vinegar and heating it just enough to dissolve the sugar and salt. For mildly seasoned vinegar, try 1⁄3 cup vinegar, 2 teaspoons of salt, and 2 teaspoons of sugar.Find out more about this book: Eat More, Weigh Less: Dr. Dean Ornish's Life Choice Program for Losing Weig...The spectrum of available vinegars has grown much wider than the highly acidic and bitter white vinegar made from distilled alcohol that we depended on in the past. There are many now to choose from. Balsamic vinegar (made from grapes, then aged for... More
Vinegar dates back over 10,000 years. It was discovered quite by accident, when wine had gone bad. Vinegar can, and indeed, has been made from a bewildering array of ingredients. Vinegar is simply the fermentation of natural sugars to alcohol and then secondary fermentation to create vinegar. In addition to grapes, vinegar has been made from molasses, dates, sorghum, fruits, berries, melons, coconut, honey, beer, maple syrup, potatoes, beets, malt, grains and whey (The Vinegar Institute: http://www.versatilevinegar.org/vinegarlore.html). Since vinegar can be made from anything with sugar, the possibilities are staggering. The following varieties of vinegar are classified by a U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Compliance Policy Guide for labeling purposes based upon their starting material and method of manufacturing:
Cider or Apple vinegar is made from the two-fold fermentation of apple juice (Vinegar can be made from other fruits as well).
Wine or Grape vinegar is made from the two-fold fermentation of the juice of grapes.
Malt vinegar, made by the two-fold fermentation of barley malt or other cereals where starch has been converted to maltose.
Sugar vinegar, made by the two-fold fermentation of solutions of sugar syrup or molasses.
Spirit or distilled vinegar, made by the acetic fermentation of dilute distilled alcohol.
Blended Vinegar is the product made by the two-fold fermentation of a mixture of alcohol and cider stock.
Rice or Rice Wine vinegar (although not part of FDA’s Compliance Policy Guide) has increased in popularity over the past several years and is made by the two-fold fermentation of sugars from rice or a concentrate of rice without distillation. Seasoned rice or rice wine vinegars are made from rice with the “seasoning” ingredients noted on the label.
Balsamic vinegar (also not a part of FDA’s Compliance Policy Guide) are made from the juice of grapes. Some of the juice is subjected to an alcoholic and subsequent acetic fermentation and some to concentration or heating.Vinegar dates back over 10,000 years. It was discovered quite by accident, when wine had gone bad. Vinegar can, and indeed, has been made from a bewildering array of ingredients. Vinegar is simply the fermentation of natural sugars to alcohol and... More