Osteoporosis Diagnosis

What are the different types of bone-density tests for osteoporosis?

A Answers (1)

  • AHarris McIlwain, MD, Rheumatology, answered
    There are several types of bone-density tests. Those that involve x rays or some form of radiation are as follows:

    • DXA (Dual-energy X-ray Absorptiometry)
    • QCT (Quantitative Computed Tomography)
    • RGA (Radiographic Absorptiometry)

    Other tests include ultrasound and urine tests, which measure the amount of bone byproducts removed in the urine.
    Helpful? 1 person found this helpful.
Did You See?  Close
What is a bone density T-score for osteoporosis?